Does niacinamide cause purging?
The short answer
No. It does not work the way purging is supposed to work.
Niacinamide does not accelerate cell turnover at all. It works on barrier lipids, pigment transfer and inflammation, none of which push anything to the surface.
Give it two to four weeks: that is when the change first became measurable.
how it was measured
Measured on facial hyperpigmentation and skin lightness versus vehicle, computer image analysis and visual grading of high-resolution facial images; the first visit at which the change was measurable.PMID 12100180PMID 16029679
If it isn’t a purge, what is it?
Almost always something else in the bottle, because niacinamide rarely travels alone. The one exception the evidence supports is very sensitive skin meeting a high percentage, and that flushes and stings within minutes rather than producing spots a fortnight later.
That distinction is not pedantry. A purge is something to wait out, so the advice that follows from it is keep going. Irritation is a barrier problem, and the advice that follows from it is the opposite: less often, less product, more moisturiser. Being told the wrong one costs weeks.
What was actually measured
The only numbers anyone has published come from a discussion of three tretinoin trials, which counted how many people had more inflammatory spots at week two than at the start.
| Treatment arm | Patients with more spots at week two |
|---|---|
| Mild acne at the start | |
| Tretinoin | 15.4% |
| Vehicle (no active) | 8.7% |
| Combination | 7.6% |
| the one row that looks like a purge | |
| Moderate acne at the start | |
| Tretinoin | not reported |
| Vehicle (no active) | not reported |
| Combination | 8.5% |
| clindamycin alone 11% | |
| Severe acne at the start | |
| Tretinoin | not reported |
| Vehicle (no active) | 23.8% |
| Combination | 12% |
| the vehicle flared most | |
The one that does look like a purge is the top group: 15.4% on tretinoin against 8.7% on vehicle in mild acne. It is a real difference and it is small, and it is the only one of its kind in the literature.
What is real, and when it actually happens
Irritation is measured, repeatedly, including by regulators reviewing the products themselves. It is not the same thing as more spots, and it does not run on the timetable the internet gives it.
Most of the signs and symptoms of local tolerability were mild or moderate in severity with the peak of severity at week 1 and a gradual reduction during the twelve weeks of treatment.
Week one. Not week four to six.
The rule everyone repeats has never been tested
The rule that purging appears where you normally break out, and a reaction appears somewhere new, has never been tested. It is not defined as a variable in any trial we could find. Every published attempt to detect a flare counted lesions, not where they were.
How much niacinamide is even in there?
Before blaming an ingredient, it is worth knowing whether you are getting a meaningful amount of it. A label never prints percentages, but it does print order — and only down to a point. Above roughly 1%, ingredients must be listed strongest first. Below it, they may be listed in any order the brand likes, so a name near the end of a list tells you nothing except that there is very little of it.
2 of 41 — above the inferred line at 16, so the order is still telling you something.
CeraVe Mattifying Moisturising Gel-Cream
2 of 28 — above the inferred line at 11, so the order is still telling you something.
Paula's Choice 10% Niacinamide Booster
2 of 27 — above the inferred line at 21, so the order is still telling you something.
The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%
2 of 11 — above the inferred line at 7, so the order is still telling you something.
Anua Niacinamide 10% + TXA 4% Serum
3 of 51 — above the inferred line at 32, so the order is still telling you something.
Anua Peach 70% Niacinamide Serum
3 of 45 — above the inferred line at 27, so the order is still telling you something.
COSRX The Niacinamide 15 Serum
3 of 15 — above the inferred line at 9, so the order is still telling you something.
3 of 26 — above the inferred line at 15, so the order is still telling you something.
3 of 32 — above the inferred line at 24, so the order is still telling you something.
Medicube PDRN Pink Peptide Serum
3 of 40 — a list this short has nothing in it to infer a 1% line from, so position is all you get.
CeraVe PM Facial Moisturizing Lotion
4 of 24 — above the inferred line at 7, so the order is still telling you something.
Beauty of Joseon Calming Barrier Serum
5 of 33 — above the inferred line at 9, so the order is still telling you something.
5 of 19 — above the inferred line at 17, so the order is still telling you something.
CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum
5 of 33 — above the inferred line at 13, so the order is still telling you something.
5 of 24 — above the inferred line at 12, so the order is still telling you something. Also here, above the line: Gluconolactone.
5 of 10 — above the inferred line at 7, so the order is still telling you something.
La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo+ M
5 of 35 — above the inferred line at 29, so the order is still telling you something.
La Roche-Posay Effaclar Ultra Concentrated Serum
5 of 21 — above the inferred line at 19, so the order is still telling you something. Also here, above the line: Glycolic Acid, Salicylic Acid.
La Roche-Posay Lipikar Baume AP+MAX
5 of 28 — above the inferred line at 21, so the order is still telling you something.
Medicube Collagen Night Wrapping Mask
5 of 26 — above the inferred line at 13, so the order is still telling you something.
OLAY Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream (US formula)
5 of 30 — above the inferred line at 13, so the order is still telling you something.
The Ordinary Soothing & Barrier Support Serum
5 of 45 — above the inferred line at 19, so the order is still telling you something.
Beauty of Joseon Glow Serum: Propolis + Niacinamide
6 of 30 — above the inferred line at 24, so the order is still telling you something.
Celimax The Vita A Retinal Shot Tightening Booster
6 of 32 — above the inferred line at 16, so the order is still telling you something.
CeraVe SA Urea Smoothing Moisturising Cream
6 of 32 — above the inferred line at 17, so the order is still telling you something.
Isntree Hyaluronic Acid Watery Sun Gel SPF 50+
6 of 43 — above the inferred line at 27, so the order is still telling you something.
La Roche-Posay Redermic Retinol B3 Serum
6 of 21 — above the inferred line at 17, so the order is still telling you something. Also here, above the line: Retinol.
Medicube Zero Exosome Shot 2000
6 of 27 — above the inferred line at 12, so the order is still telling you something.
Avène Hydrance BOOST Concentrated Hydrating Serum
7 of 17 — above the inferred line at 11, so the order is still telling you something.
Beauty of Joseon Revive Eye Serum: Ginseng + Retinal
7 of 36 — above the inferred line at 15, so the order is still telling you something.
7 of 24 — above the inferred line at 11, so the order is still telling you something. Also here, above the line: Salicylic Acid, Glycolic Acid.
CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser
7 of 25 — above the inferred line at 12, so the order is still telling you something.
Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser
7 of 13 — above the inferred line at 10, so the order is still telling you something.
7 of 16 — above the inferred line at 14, so the order is still telling you something.
Round Lab Birch Juice Moisturizing Sun Cream
7 of 40 — above the inferred line at 28, so the order is still telling you something.
Beauty of Joseon Glow Deep Serum
8 of 32 — above the inferred line at 16, so the order is still telling you something.
Beauty of Joseon Relief Sun: Rice + Probiotics SPF50+
8 of 42 — above the inferred line at 22, so the order is still telling you something.
Haruharu Wonder Black Rice Moisture Airyfit Daily Sunscreen
8 of 51 — above the inferred line at 34, so the order is still telling you something.
OLAY Regenerist Retinol 24 Night Moisturizer
8 of 14 — a list this short has nothing in it to infer a 1% line from, so position is all you get. Also here, above the line: Retinol, Retinyl Propionate.
La Roche-Posay Toleriane Purifying Foaming Cleanser
9 of 15 — above the inferred line at 11, so the order is still telling you something.
11 of 25 — above the inferred line at 13, so the order is still telling you something.
CeraVe Acne Foaming Cream Cleanser
13 of 28 — below the inferred line at 7, so this is a trace whatever the front of the bottle says. Also here, above the line: Benzoyl Peroxide.
Cetaphil Gentle Exfoliating SA Cleanser
13 of 23 — above the inferred line at 18, so the order is still telling you something. Also here, above the line: Gluconolactone, Salicylic Acid, Mandelic Acid.
CeraVe Hydrating Mineral Sunscreen Face Lotion SPF 30
15 of 44 — above the inferred line at 21, so the order is still telling you something.
CeraVe Skin Renewing Retinol Serum
15 of 37 — below the inferred line at 14, so this is a trace whatever the front of the bottle says.
Cetaphil Redness Relieving Night Moisturizer
24 of 30 — above the inferred line at 27, so the order is still telling you something.
What else in your routine could be doing this
Our conflict engine flags no pairing at all for niacinamide: it is one of the ingredients that gets along with everything we hold rules for. So if a routine containing it turned on you, the cause is almost certainly something else in that routine. The conflict checker takes the whole shelf at once and is the faster way to find it.
What we know about niacinamide
- Irritation risk
- moderate
- In pregnancy
- safe
- Useful at
- effective above 2%
- Evidence overall
- strong
The full entry, with scores and sources, is on the niacinamide page.
Niacinamide and purging, answered
Does niacinamide cause purging?
No. It does not work the way purging is supposed to work. Niacinamide does not accelerate cell turnover at all. It works on barrier lipids, pigment transfer and inflammation, none of which push anything to the surface.
How long does niacinamide purging last?
Nobody has measured it, because no trial has ever defined a purge as something to count. What has been measured is irritation, and regulators reviewing these products put its peak in week one, not the four to six weeks consumer advice tells you to endure. Our own entry rates niacinamide's irritation risk as moderate.
Is this niacinamide purging, or a breakout?
The rule everyone repeats — that a purge appears where you normally break out and a reaction appears somewhere new — has never been tested in a clinical trial. With niacinamide the likelier explanation is this: Almost always something else in the bottle, because niacinamide rarely travels alone. The one exception the evidence supports is very sensitive skin meeting a high percentage, and that flushes and stings within minutes rather than producing spots a fortnight later.
How do I know there is enough niacinamide in my product to do anything?
Position in the ingredient list is the only clue a label gives you, and it stops meaning anything below about 1%, because the rules stop requiring descending order there. We decode 46 products containing niacinamide. On 2 of them the ingredient sits inside that unordered tail.
How we know this
Read the titles: all three are about retinoids, not niacinamide. That is not an oversight, it is the finding. Retinoids are the only class anybody has gone looking in, so they are the only place there is anything to read at all. Nobody has run the equivalent study on niacinamide — which is precisely why this page cannot tell you what one found.
- Yentzer BA, McClain RW, Feldman SR. Do topical retinoids cause acne to "flare"? J Drugs Dermatol. 2009 Sep;8(9):799-801.PMID 19746671Review of the clinical-trial literature, searching specifically for evidence of initial worsening.
No primary data from clinical trials were identified to support the dogma of acne worsening secondary to topical retinoids.
Abstract read in full at PubMed, 2026-08-08. - Leyden JJ, Preston N, Johnson LA, Gottschalk R. Effects of topical retinoid therapy on acne lesions: a psychometric assessment. Cutis. 2012.PMID 22908733Re-analysis of adapalene trial data, testing three separate definitions of a flare: a 5%, a 10% and a 20% rise in inflammatory lesions after the first week.
no evidence of worsening or a flare was seen by either the VLS model or percentage-based definitions
Abstract read at PubMed, 2026-08-08. - Del Rosso JQ. Retinoid-induced flaring in patients with acne vulgaris: does it really exist? J Clin Aesthet Dermatol. 2008 May.PMID 21103310Editorial discussion of data from three trials of a clindamycin 1.2% / tretinoin 0.025% gel. Not itself a trial, and no funding is disclosed.Full text read at PMC, 2026-08-08. The severe-acne row is read off the figures.