How much vitamin C (LAA) do you need? 5%+

The effective vitamin C (LAA) percentage, by the vehicle-controlled trials, starts at 5%; no published dose comparison sets a ceiling.

Give it eight to twelve weeks, and possibly less: that is simply when it was measured.

how it was measured

Measured on investigator-graded photodamage on the treated half-face (fine wrinkling, roughness, tone); measured at the trial's end, so possibly sooner.PMID 10522500PMID 11896774

See it on the timeline, beside the others →

Dose line for Vitamin C (LAA): the trials worked from 5% with no measured ceiling; ticks at 3%, 5%, 10%, 25% where the named trials worked; the highest dose tested 25% in an open-label melasma study, with a penetration enhancer (Hwang 2009): tolerance not reported; catalogue labels at 23%. Linear scale.3%, Raschke 20045%, Humbert 200310%, Traikovich 199925%, the highest dose tested in leave-on use on human skin (Hwang 2009): tolerance not reported3%5%10%23%25%, open-labelnot reportedRaschke 2004Humbert 2003Traikovich 1999highest tested, Hwang 2009The Ordinary Vitamin C Suspension 23% + HA Spheres 2%: 23%0%

3%, Raschke 2004.

A 3% cream beat placebo on wrinkles in a 12-week Beiersdorf study (Raschke 2004).

The rose band is where the vehicle-controlled trials worked, open to the right because no dose comparison sets a ceiling; each tick is a concentration a named trial used, with its author and year; the last tick is the highest dose tested in leave-on use on human skin, 25% in an open-label melasma study, with a penetration enhancer (Hwang 2009), where the paper reports: tolerance not reported; the bottles above the line are the products in our catalogue that declare a percentage on the name, hollow where it falls outside the trials’ range. The scale is linear.

What vitamin C (LAA) percentage is effective?

The floor is 5%: a 5% L-ascorbic acid cream beat its excipient on a dermatologist global score, silicone-replica microrelief and elastic-fibre ultrastructure over 6 months on the neck and forearms of photoaged women (Humbert 2003, double-blind; the abstract gives no headcount).

5%+

The trials, and what they used
  • Traikovich 1999 ran Cellex-C, declared by its maker as 10% ascorbic acid, against its vehicle on 19 evaluable faces for 12 weeks and profilometry improved 74% more on the active side.
  • A 3% cream beat placebo on wrinkles in a 12-week Beiersdorf study (Raschke 2004).
  • The 20% ceiling on the market is not a human effect ceiling: it comes from pig-skin absorption, where uptake stopped rising above 20% (Pinnell 2001).
  • No human dose comparison found.
  • The manufacturer's reading (Raschke 2004, Beiersdorf): a 3% ascorbic acid cream beat placebo on facial wrinkles over 12 weeks, but the abstract gives no headcount or blinding, so the floor stays at the independent 5%.

Is 23% vitamin C (LAA) too much?

Nobody has measured it: no published dose comparison sets a ceiling for vitamin C (LAA), so 23% is above the 5% floor the trials used, not above a measured maximum, and the trials say nothing about whether more does more. The highest dose tested in leave-on use was 25% in an open-label melasma study, with a penetration enhancer (Hwang 2009), and the paper does not say how skin tolerated it.

No published dose comparison sets a ceiling for vitamin c (laa). A declared percentage above 5% is above the trials' floor, not above a measured maximum: the trials say from 5% it works, and say nothing about whether more does more.

What does the vitamin C (LAA) percentage on a label tell you?

A name that states a percentage ("Vitamin C (LAA) 5%") is the only amount a cosmetic label ever declares, so it is the one number that can be read against the trials: at or above the 5% floor, or below it.

A name without a percentage leaves the position. The rules make a brand list ingredients in descending order of amount down to 1%, and in any order below it, so vitamin c (laa) above the 1% line is at least 1% and vitamin c (laa) below it can be any trace the brand likes. The floor the trials worked from is 5%, and a position alone cannot tell you whether a label reaches it.

The vitamin C (LAA) percentages in our catalogue

The 5 products in our catalogue that carry vitamin C (LAA): the number is the percentage the name declares, or the position on the label where it declares none.

One label declares a percentage on the name, read against the trials:

4 labels carry it without a number, so the position is all there is:

Read on

Other actives with a dose the trials pinned:

The range column was researched and verified in September 2026 (this row last changed 22 September 2026). The number is the trials' and the reasoning is the knowledge base's; neither is advice about your skin. How we score.